Sustainability and social responsibility through learning in SMEs (SocialSME)

Funding informations

Project duration: 10/2007 – 09/2009

Project code number:

Funding guideline: Leonardo da Vinci

Project concept

Initial situation

Many small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) suffer from phenomena such as high staff turnover, customer complaints, uncertainty in rapid change processes, internal conflicts, lack of attractiveness for capable junior staff and conflicts with competitors. This is often due to poor management of relationships with key stakeholders. In the conflict between the work and decision-making pressures of everyday life, such strategic issues are often neglected. Principles of socially responsible, sustainable corporate governance can help here. However, a prerequisite for this is a compact and attractive advisory format for SMEs to reflect on and implement such management principles, which have been lacking up to now.

Target groups and their benefits

The SocialSME project is aimed at counsellors and trainers from training and counselling institutions who test the procedure to be developed in SMEs and later use it in counselling SMEs. In addition, owners, managers and social partners of SMEs were addressed to reflect on their previous socially responsible activities and to make them more systematic and strategic.

Project goal

The SocialSME project aims to sensitise SMEs and make them aware of why fairness and shared learning with customers, employees and competitors are crucial for business success. To this end, a consultancy format was developed that supports SMEs in improving their relationship management and in strategically planning and sustainably implementing the development and shaping of relationships with customers, employees and competitors. Good practices were used to illustrate successfully implemented management principles.

Role of ISOB

ISOB conducts the initial study, prepares the counselling concept and is responsible for the internal evaluation.

Products and publications

  • Analysis of good practices to identify socially responsible management principles 
  • Development of a counselling guide and materials with six workshop units of 3 hours each ("6×3 step-by-step" process) on socially responsible corporate governance

Partnerships

Partners

  • Lithuania (project coordination): Kaunas Technical University
  • Portugal: CECOA, Trade Education Centre
  • Bulgaria: National Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASMB)
  • Romania: FIA Test
  • Latvia: University of Riga
  • Poland: University of Wroclaw
  • Germany: Institut für sozialwissenschaftliche Beratung GmbH

The project was successfully completed and positively evaluated.

We will be happy to provide you with the project results on request. For further information, please contact our Team.

Sustainability and social responsibility through learning in SMEs (SocialSME)

Förderinformationen

Projektkennziffer: 10/2007-09/2009

Förderrichtlinie: Leonardo da Vinci

Projektdauer

10/2007 – 09/2009

Projektkonzept

Ausgangslage

Viele kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU) leiden unter Phänomenen, wie hohe Fluktuation, Kundenbeschwerden, Unsicherheit in schnellen Veränderungsprozessen, internen Konflikten, mangelnder Attraktivität für leistungsfähige Nachwuchskräfte sowie Konflikten mit Mitbewerbern. Dies ist häufig auf ein mangelndes Management der Beziehungen zu den wichtigen Stakeholder:innen zurückzuführen. Im Konflikt zwischen dem Arbeits- und Entscheidungsdruck des Alltags werden solche strategischen Themen nicht selten vernachlässigt. Prinzipien einer sozial verantwortlichen, nachhaltigen Unternehmensführung können hier helfen. Voraussetzung dafür ist allerdings eine für KMU kompaktes und attraktives Beratungsformat zur Reflektion und Umsetzung solcher Managementprinzipien, die bisher fehlen.

Zielgruppen und deren Nutzen

Das Projekt SocialSME richtet sich an Berater:innen und Ausbilder:innen von Ausbildungs- und Beratungseinrichtungen, die das zu entwickelte Vorgehen in KMU erproben und später in der Beratung von KMU einsetzen. Zudem wurden Eigentümer:innen, Manager:innen von KMU und Sozialpartner der KMU angesprochen, um ihre bisherigen sozial verantwortlichen Aktivitäten zu reflektieren und systematischer und strategischer zu gestalten.

Projektziel

Das Projekt SocialSME hat zum Ziel, die KMU zu sensibilisieren und sie darauf aufmerksam machen, warum Fairness und gemeinsames Lernen mit Kund:innen, Mitarbeitenden und Wettbewerbern für den Geschäftserfolg entscheidend sind. Hierzu wurde ein Beratungsformat entwickelt, das KMU bei der Verbesserung ihres Beziehungsmanagements unterstützt und den Aufbau und Gestaltung der Beziehungen zu Kund:innen, Mitarbeitenden und Wettbewerbern strategisch plant und nachhaltig implementiert. Mit Hilfe von Good Practices wurden erfolgreich, umgesetzte Managementprinzipien illustriert.

Rolle von ISOB

ISOB führt die Anfangsstudie durch, erstellt das Beratungskonzept und ist für die interne Evaluation zuständig.

Produkte und Veröffentlichungen

  • Analyse von Good Practices zur Identifikation von sozial verantwortlichen Managementprinzipien 
  • Entwicklung eines Beratungsleitfaden und Materialien mit sechs Workshop-Einheiten zu je 3 Stunden (“6×3-Schritt-für-Schritt“-Prozess) zur sozial verantwortlichen Unternehmensführung

Partnerschaften

Verbundpartner

  • Litauen (Projektkoordination): Kaunas Technical University
  • Portugal: CECOA, Bildungszentrum des Handels
  • Bulgarien: National Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASMB)
  • Rumänien: FIA Test
  • Lettland: Universität Riga
  • Polen: Universität Wroclaw
  • Deutschland: Institut für sozialwissenschaftliche Beratung GmbH

Die Projektergebnisse stellen wir Ihnen gerne auf Anfrage zur Verfügung. Zudem können Sie sich für weitere Informationen gerne an unser Team wenden.